Confessions of a people pleaser

I was recently reading something and one line stood out “what others think about you is their business.” Honestly reading that was like a light bulb switching on for me. For far too long I’ve always wanted people to think the best of me and I find myself going out of my way to be just a little bit nicer, more polite, forgiving, light-hearted than I probably truly am for the sake of my image.

While reading that sentence wasn’t the beginning of a huge epiphany it did make me realize no matter what I do, how nice, accomodating, friendly, and patient I am there will always be someone no matter what the circumstance that will just simply think ill of me and that is okay. My mom has always told me there will people who dislike you or talk about you despite all you do she’s also known for saying people talked about Jesus so they will talk about you. She’s a wise old bird when she wants to be and more importantly when I choose to listen.

Leave a Reply

