Up to No Good — a review

book

So everyone that really knows me knows that I absolutely positively LOVE to cuddle up with a good book.

I’ve been a fan of Carl Weber for some time and to date I’ve read all of his novels so when I found about his newest release Up to No Good I couldn’t wait to read it.
True to his fashion this book is full of DRAMA. Unlike the other novels I can’t say that I was so enthralled that I couldn’t put it down however I bought the book so I was determined to finish.

The three main characters are Darnel, Jamie and their father James. The book starts on the eve of Darnel’s wedding and a series of events occur which causes the wedding to be cancelled. Jamie the baby of the family seems to have an unhealthy obsession with her father’s affairs and a lot of insecurities when it comes to her own relationships. James their father, the womanizer has never met a woman who has made him want to settle down not even the mothers of his children.

Personally I was a little disappointed the characters were so extreme that they felt unbelievable. The Black family took dysfunctional to another level. Darnel was deranged, Jamie an insecure little girl in a 25 year old body, and James the root of it all a man approaching middle age who has never been in love and can’t seem to muster up any feelings towards a woman besides his daughter.

For me this one was just ok and if I had to rate it on a scale of 1 to 5 I’d give it a 3.

Leave a Reply

