He was speaking to me

I was channel surfing, checking the guide when I noticed that Joel Osteen’s show was on and for some reason I felt compelled to watch and I am so glad I did.  His message for today was “Redeeming the Time.”  I didn’t see the entire broadcast but the portion I did see made me go a ha several times.  He spoke about not letting the sun go down on your anger and cherishing the time that we have left and that really struck a chord with me.  I have always been a person that values my alone time sometimes a little too much.

Recently my younger sister passed away and more than anything I wished that she and I had spent more time together.  We have different mothers so growing up much of the time I spent with my little sisters were over the holidays or if I came to town to see my Dad so needless to say she and I were not as close as she was to our other little sister.  In the last few years she and I had started to talk on the phone more and she would ask for my advice which really meant a lot to know she valued my opinion.  It was pretty devastating when she passed away and also a huge reminder of how much time  slipped away from us.  I am appreciative of the time we did have and I know I must focus on that, but this situation and Rev Osteen’s message has shown me that tomorrow is not promised and like he said we must make the most of the present.

Although I am a homebody to the depths of my soul I must absolutely make an effort to spend more time with my friends and family as to not spend the rest of my life regretting that I didn’t.

2 thoughts on “He was speaking to me

  1. I am sorry to hear about your sister. I am a lot like you in that I truly value my alone time, but I need to make the effort to allow people into my life. I also let people slip away too freely. Its like I shrug my shoulders and say “ah well, it was good while it lasted.” I need to stop doing that and hold on a little bit tighter. This post was confirmation of that.

  2. Convoluted Introspect says:

    Being an only child my solitude became my sanctuary. After the death of my father I was so disappointed that later on in his illness I didn’t spend the time with him that I truly wanted to. I now make a conscience effort to stay in contact with those I hold dear to my heart, because you just never know. So always remember to smile a little brighter,laugh a little harder and hold on a little tighter.

Leave a Reply

