Is it too late for my dream to come true..

As a little girl I remember dreaming and planning my wedding day. I couldn’t wait to walk down the aisle towards the man of my dreams wearing a beautiful gown. Through the years my vision changed; however one thing remained unchanged and that was my desire for a wedding.
Before my own wedding day I was able to be a part of so many of my friends’ special days which only solidified my wish for a wedding.

As we all know, life has a way of throwing you curve balls, so when I finally met my knight in pressed ACUs, Uncle Sam and financial factors prevented us from having that big beautiful white wedding I always hoped for. Intellectually I understand that the wedding is just a day and the marriage should be the major concern, but I cannot for the life of me quiet that little girl inside of me who longs for the day she gets to step into a beautiful gown, put on makeup and walk down an aisle of flower petals towards her forever….

While I do not regret getting married I curse myself for my impatience, unwillingness to wait, save and plan for that day. My husband and I have discussed having a renewal ceremony, but so far we haven’t decided on a renewal year. I wonder if we’ll ever decide and when we do will I still want to do it at that point. I wonder if I should just suck it up and move on. I’ve even considered renting a dress and scheduling a photo shoot for me and the hubs, but I wonder if that will that only fuel the fire.

I wish this didn’t mean so much that I could just continue on with my life and not keep revisiting thoughts of wedding gowns and tuxedos, but it has been almost 5 years and my feelings haven’t changed. I guess it doesn’t help that every other show on tv is wedding related. I can’t help but long for my own special day as I watch David Tutera turn nightmare weddings into a dream come true or want to see myself in a gown as I watch other women “”Say Yes To The Dress.”

For now dreams of tulle and satin will be just that BUT I refuse to give up hope that one day I will have a chance to stand in the mirror and see my reflection clad in a beautiful Amsale.

4 thoughts on “Is it too late for my dream to come true..

  1. This is a hard one for me cause I was not one of those little girls who dreamed of a wedding, I could really care less. I say if you want to have a wedding do it…it is never too late to renew your vowes and have the wedding you always dreamed of. If this is something you really want like anything you have to set a date, set a goal, and simply get it done. Sounds like hubby is on board, your kids can be apart of it. I wouldn’t go all balls out but I would def do some of the things I always dreamed of…

  2. Andrea says:

    I say do it. I’m doing a vow renewal next year. When I got married I had the dress , big wedding, all of that. If that’s what you want, go for it. I say go to Vegas, wear the dress, and do it up.

  3. You should not feel bad about wanting waht you want. You are not shallow or thinking of inconsequential things. You want to be a princess or queen, go for it! I had a small wedding (45 people), and most of my friends were not there because I got married in VA and my friends are either in NYC or Miami. So I want to have a reception 5+ years later. Some people think it’s silly, but what do I care? Only do you!

  4. awwww. (((hug)))

    while i never dreamt of the big day, i did have one…thanks to the ‘rents.

    if having that type of celebration is something you REALLY want to do, do it. and, don’t feel bad for it. BUT…never for a minute allow that to overshadow the fact that you’re blessed with a good man…and, a beautiful family. that by far is what us big girls still dream of! *wink*

    and, um…i better get an invite. or an announcement. or something! lmaoooooo!!!

Leave a Reply

