Do friendships have an expiration date?

Twitter is my guilty pleasure/daily entertainment/unofficial news source; however every now and then someone posts something that makes me stop and think.  Today that person was none other than Terry McMillan. She was tweeting about friends/friendships and she stated the friends we make in college would be life-long friends because it is harder to build friendships in our 30s-50s since by this time you have already established your circle, and friends you made in high school you tend to outgrow.

I’ve been thinking about my relationships with old and not so old friends lately and while I believe there is certainly some truth to her statements when it comes to me they aren’t 100% accurate.

My oldest and dearest friend I met when I was 7 years old and in the second grade. Since the day we became friends we weren’t apart much until I moved to Atlanta in 2001. She’s now married with two children. Granted we don’t speak as often as we did when we were younger, single and childless, but I still consider her to be a good friend. Sometimes it seems bittersweet that the person who was once like my right hand I now only speak to once every two weeks or so when we are in the car driving home from work because once we cross the threshold of our homes life comes at you 100 mph and between making dinner and yelling at kids you really don’t have time to talk.

I made quite a few friends in college, but we don’t speak on a regular basis anymore. If it wasn’t for Facebook I probably wouldn’t speak to them at all.  There was a time in my life that I tried my best to keep in touch with my friends, but it’s a two way street and its difficult to think you are barely a blip on the radar to a person you considered a true friend.

Although at times I am extremely introverted there is a part of me that LOVES people. When I am in that mood there is nothing more I’d rather do than spend a few hours laughing and talking with a good girlfriend, but what do you do when that familiar friend isn’t available? I have been blessed to be a member of a sorority which allows me to make connections with women I wouldn’t have otherwise met BUT being a military wife and moving to a new location every few years makes even that somewhat difficult.

Well that’s enough deep thought for me today… kudos to Ms. McMillan for making me think today!

One thought on “Do friendships have an expiration date?

  1. What an interesting topic…one that I’ve pondered off & on for years. I agree, somewhat, with T.M. Mainly because…at this age, I’m not looking for any new friends. If I make them, great…but, it’s more on an associate level…I think. LOL.

    Kudos to you for continuing to make the effort to stay in touch with your childhood friend — in the midst of all that life brings your way. I guess that’s part of being an adult…learning to cherish those lil’ momentary trips down memory lane — even if they’re in the midst of rush hour traffic! (~:

    Good post! I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

