Controversy

So it seems the hot topics of discussion are Lebron James’ move to Miami and Ocho Cinco’s new show and the lack of African-American women included. I will admit I get caught up in pop culture and I love hearing celebrity news/gossip as much as the next person, but I have to ask when do we as fans take a step back and stop taking things so personally when it comes to these celebrities? Their life choices are just that…. THEIR life choices and while we may not agree with them we have to accept them because guess what God gave us all free will, right?

I must preface this by saying I am not a sports fanatic in the least… however I can’t go online , turn on the radio or television without hearing about Lebron James. Hell even I watched “The Decision.” I guess I can understand to an extent why the Cleveland fans are a little miffed, but this is getting out of hand! The public is being bombarded with headlines about Lebron. He’s being called disloyal amongst other things… it was even reported when he showed up in New York for La La and Carmello’s wedding the people in NY booed him because he didn’t choose the Knicks… I mean really? The guy decided to change jobs simple as that, no more no less. His reasons for doing so shouldn’t really matter.

Now on to Ocho Cinco’s lack of African-American women on his show…. First of all it is a reality tv show!!! I am not sure why we are all up in arms because we were all cringing when we saw the behavior of the women featured on Flavor of Love and Real Chance of Love and yet we want to see more of this foolishness? It has been reported the Chad does not like black women….. I don’t recall ever hearing HIM say it or seeing it in print from an interview he’s done, but I digress…. So the man has dated women of other races and this is significant why? Does that prove he does not like black women? Not to me…. And if he doesn’t so what! It aggravates me to no end when people get upset about athletes/celebs/etc date outside of their race…are we really upset that this person is dating another race or are we upset that we didn’t get a chance to dig in those pockets? Chad Ocho Cinco’s decision to date any woman of any color is no direct reflection of me as a black woman…wanna know why???? I’ve never dated Chad so if he does happen to have a negative opinion about black women he didn’t form it because he dated me… I am wholly different from every other black woman in the world and guess what ladies so are you! You are beautiful because you are you and Chad or any other man for that matter dating a woman of a different race does not take that away from you. It should not hurt or offend you! I’m not sure why it even bears mentioning, but again in a society that feels we are entitled to comment and be privy to each minute aspect of a celebrity’s life just because their job puts them in the public eye somebody had to say something!

Leave a Reply

