Sweet Little Lies: A review

Based on a review by my Twitter friend and trusted book critic Lisa from www.reads4pleasure.com I added Sweet Little Lies to my to-be-read shelf on Shelfari. Friday as luck would have it, I had a few minutes to spend strolling through the stacks at the library and what did I see, but one of the very books I’d been meaning to read.

Description via amazon.com

Christina Brinsley is that girl.You know the one: a little bougie, a little opinionated, knows it all, has it all, and is a total perfectionist. But Christina’s perfectly crafted world isn’t really so perfect. Her third engagement fizzled three days before the wedding, her family expects her to solve their problems, and her friends are more than a little bit out of control. To keep it all together, she dedicates herself to her work, because it’s the one thing that won’t let her down. But when her latest assignment leads her to sizzling hot professor Steven Williams, the one man who sees through her efforts to outsmart and outmaneuver her way through every situation, Christina can’t believe she’s falling for a man who may be a key player in the scandal she’s investigating….

Wanting to take a break from the heavy (domestic violence, dysfunctional family) books I’ve been reading lately, this evening I plucked Sweet Little Lies out of the stack of books I borrowed. I started reading around 7pm and I did not put it down until I was done a few minutes ago at 3 am. Honestly, I do not even know where to begin other than to say I really loved this story!

Michele Grant is a genius!!! She made me care about her characters, and for me that’s no easy feat. I can say without a doubt I am totally and completely in love with Steven! He is pretty darn close to perfect.  Christina I wanted to totally strangle a few times, but I even love her. Their dialogue was so fresh. I loved how they could have intelligent conversations and every once in a while slip into silly and sometimes slang laced chats.

This story was so balanced there was just enough romance, humor,  and intrigue to keep me interested. Several times I told myself to put the book down and I could finish in the morning, but I found that I could not go to sleep until I knew how the story ended. I seriously have not been this excited about a romance novel in a LONG time!

This was definitely time well spent!

Leave a Reply

