Just Call Me the LoneStar Peach

Image

Three years to the day our family moved to South Carolina we moved again…. our final destination being El Paso, TX. In the midst of our travels we made a pitstop in Georgia to say goodbye to our families and also because The Girl and I were in my sister’s New Year’s Eve wedding. We spent Jan 1 laying around so that we could hop on the road bright eyed and bushy-tailed  the next day.

True to fashion I’d done my research so I knew what to expect in terms of mileage, but NOTHING could have prepared me for the actual trip. El Paso, Texas is about 1600 miles from my mother’s house in South Georgia and roughly 1 day and 1 hour away according to Google Maps. I have NEVER EVER been a long road trip person… in fact anything over 2.5 hours drives me insane so to think I was going to be in the car for roughly 2 or 3 days traveling with 2 kids was enough to make me consider getting a prescription for Valium. Day one the hubs drove while I alternated reading and harassing him for bathroom breaks. We made great time. We stopped for the night in Baton Rouge, LA and we even got to sample a local restaurant, Parrain’s, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Day 2 it was my turn behind the wheel…. all was well at first. I got us out of Louisiana and into Texas. I was checking the navigation every few minutes to note our progress. I thought we were making good time especially when I saw that we only had 150 miles until we reached San Antonio… or so I thought… apparently we had 150 miles to travel to the next highway once I realized my mistake I felt so deflated. I literally could have cried. I drove 6 hours until we reached Katy, Texas where we stopped for lunch and then once again the hubs took over…. he didn’t let me forget it either!!!!  We rode for another 3 hours and settled for the night in Boerne. We got on the road around 9 or 10 the next morning and made it to El Paso around 4 pm Mountain Time. 

It took a few days to get used to seeing everything in English and Spanish everywhere, but now I rarely notice.  The biggest adjustment was to the 2 hour time difference. Strangely enough it wasn’t that I was going to sleep early I couldn’t fall asleep until the wee hours of the morning. Someone suggested I try melatonin and it worked; however it causes the strangest dreams!

So far our new city seems to be ok… I am definitely enjoying the scenery… the mountains are beautiful and there is a Super Target maybe a half a mile from our apartment (for those who know me they know I am in HEAVEN).

 

 

Leave a Reply

