Lost in Translation???

I have what I  feel is a personal relationship with God. I am not super religious or by any means a biblical scholar so there are things that I will admit I do not know, but I am attempting to find answers to my questions. I try to act in a way  I believe to be appropriate and not against His will. The operative word here is TRY…. and yes I know there is no try…. there is do or do not…. guess I shouldn’t quote Yoda in a post about religion, but hey like I said I am working on it….

A few days ago I was on Facebook and I saw a post where someone said something that amounted to we are missing out on blessings because of tv shows, movies and the music we choose to watch and/or listen to…. this is something that I found myself giving a little thought, because in MY mind I cannot imagine a God that wants us to only watch TV shows or listen to music that pertains to the Word. Now I might be wrong and I’m sure someone will correct me if I am. I can understand how certain things would be off limits, but to live a life that is so restricted does not compute. I’m curious to know if  this is a case where the person has taken the Bible too literally OR if they have misinterpreted something. I also thought back to a conversation with a friend years ago where she explained a young lady who decided it was necessary to avoid all things secular as she believed it would cause her to “back slide” so I wonder if this is the case with the person whose post I read.  Maybe its me and I am being to liberal in my thoughts.  I’m not sure, but this is something I’m interested in finding out.

Last night while catching up with an old friend I said something about my children and I referred to them as kids which then lead them to give me a lesson on why I should not use that word and the Biblical connections. To sum it up I was told in the bible God referred to his children as sheep and that goats (aka kids) were cursed so me using this term that I’ve learned from “man” I’m essentially cursing my children by calling them kids.  In this scenario I also asked myself  is this a situation where this person might be too rigid in their interpretation or is there some validity in their argument???

So friends… what do you think? Am I blocking my blessings because I enjoy watching Grey’s Anatomy? Can I not enjoy moments of mindless entertainment? Should my television stay tuned into some type of Christian programming? Am I cursing my children because I sometimes refer to them as kids? Are we all just using God’s word in the way that benefits us most???

7 thoughts on “Lost in Translation???

  1. Tisha says:

    Wayment. You are cursing your children because you called them kids?! Heck outta here. Smh.

    I think some people DO have to keep themselves away from certain things for lots of reasons. That doesn’t have anything to do with YOUR walk, though. Nothing at all. Some people do way too much. All the time.

    I personally don’t want to be so Heavenly minded that I’m no earthly good. There are some things I watch and listen to that other Christians don’t. Doesn’t and won’t stop me. Relationship, not religion. But that’s lost on people. Smh.

  2. str8lovanochasa says:

    First of all, thank you for the honesty of this post. I appreciated it…wish it would/could spread allllll across the land! LoL! #soserious

    Anyhoo…I agree w/T. I think far too often folks want to impose THEIR limitations on others and call it a rule or ‘what thus saith the Lord’ and, He ain’t got naythin’ to do with it!

    The Bible does caution us against putting anything (and, anybody) in a ‘place’ in our lives that will remove/interfere with the #1 spot He wants to be in. (plenty references, my fave Exodus 20:3-4) So, mayyyyyyyybe, that’s why the person in the example above had to walk away from some things. Because of *their* weaknesses.

    Now…having said all of that…it is a fact that what we think about, we bring about (uh oh…a secular reference for a concept spoken of in the Bible! *gasp*) I do believe that for some people pop culture/media is a distraction — from their faith walk, and, their lives in general. But, that’s not everyone and God ain’t (yes, ain’t for the 2nd time) withholding blessings because you watch Grey’s Anatomy.

    At the end, of the day, like T. said, He wants us in relationship with Him. When that happens, the lil’ things that trip us up — won’t.

    Sorry for the length…interesting topic!

    LovA

  3. Paul says that all things are lawful for me, but all things are not expedient/best (1 Cor. 6:12). Basically, while some things are black and white with God, he certainly gave us our own free will. I don’t believe blessings could be blocked because of what types of entertainment we choose. Personally, I have backed away from A LOT of things because I feel as though it hinders my relationship with God. I am so focused and I want things/people/music that will pour into me and edify me, not distract me. I gave up T.I., Jay-Z, and Kanye (that was hard to do) and most other secular music because I felt a personal conviction to do so. I am also a lot more careful about what I watch on TV. It’s just that since my relationship is so real and I believe that HE lives inside me, I am sensitive to the things I allow in my ears and eyes because I know it offends Him.

    As for calling your children ‘kids’ – I have NEVER in my life heard that theory.

    If you desire to please Him, just ask Him to reveal the things in your life that dishonor Him and He will. But that is between you and HIM!

Leave a Reply

